Any luck with black ducks decoying

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake, Token

Any luck with black ducks decoying

Postby Abzack » Sun Dec 11, 2005 2:46 pm

This is my first year hunting over decoys I have the new greenhead gear oversize blackies they look awsome! I know black ducks are extremly weary, but I'm haveing trouble getting them to commit to my spread. I don't normally call when blackies are coming in that just seems to flare them even more. Teal, and hooded mergansers come right in and I have'nt seen any mallards yet to say what they will do. It seems that the few blackies that do see my spread seem to flare off before they are close enough for a shot. Can anyone offer any advice . Thanks

Its brown its down ! it flies it dies!!
Abzack
hunter

Postby hankrt » Sun Dec 11, 2005 3:50 pm

There are a lot of situations that play into getting blacks to commit. I usually don't have a problem getting them to slide in. I also use the greenhead decoys, but I use mallards, a few pintail, and just a few teal. I pull the teal as ice sets in but I think the pintail give all ducks a sence of security. I would say don't overcrowd your spread. If your hunting small water then only put out a few decs, the odds of getting a black to commit on small potholes is not good but you might get them to pass over close enough to pop one. Most of the blacks I shoot are near open flooded cornfields, or marsh areas that have open water after the ice sets in, this time of year is by far the best time to get all ducks to commit to your spread. If you give me some more details on how and where your hunting I may be able to offer more advise, hope that helps.
hankrt
hunter

Postby hankrt » Sun Dec 11, 2005 3:55 pm