decoy setups

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: Token, duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake

decoy setups

Postby woodduckhunter » Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:45 pm

I fairly am new to duck hunting( I have been hunting hard for 2 years). I am 14 years old and do nothing but duck hunt every weekend. I hunt mailny small ponds(1-5acres) Normally I only use 12-25 decoys. These are the decoys I own 30 mallards, 12 gadwalls, 12 teal, 6 ringneck, 6 widgeon, and 6 woodducks. I was just wondering how I should set decoys when I want to use a bigger spread?(30-50 decoys)
woodduckhunter
hunter

Postby Ducksbeus » Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:37 am

Ill bet you could do good with 6-7 decoys on your small ponds...Ive killed MANY a duck with 3 decoys, expecially early in the season. Put another 3-4 on a jerk cord and see what happens :thumbsup: When using different species, try putttin' em in thier own family pods :cool: :cool: :cool:

:hammering: :hammering: :hammering: :hammering: :hammering:
"You get what you put in, and people get what they deserve" Hank Jr. and Kid Rock
Ducksbeus
hunter

Postby LIGHT12 » Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:38 am

When I'm hunting bigger spreads which isn't often, I have been hunting divers so I don't ahve a lot to add, but Hunt what you see in the area. I now have small sets of Gadwalls, Mallards, teal, and Widgeon that I have for different locations. One place I will use 3 mallards and 2 widgeon of to the side. Or only teal earlier in the season. Another spot I don't even think about bringing Mallards at all. And I'm thinking about a half dozen shovelers for my new spot late in the year just to make it look real.