New hunter

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: The Cat Island Drake, Token, duckbuster06

New hunter

Postby Bostonsboy7 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 7:24 am

Hey guys I'm new to this forum and to duck hunting. I was wondering if anybody could answer some of my question. This year I'm going to start hunting near my house in the barnaget bay and I was wondering what calls and what decoys are most productive. Any input helps like I said I'm completely new to this. Thanks in advance
Tim
Bostonsboy7
Newb

Re: New hunter

Postby bkmaine » Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:11 am

I would recommend buying lower end equipment to start. You can still get good enough stuff and then once you change your mind or develop preferences you won't regret spending heaps of money at the start. I bought a Primos Original Wench mallard call for $15 and a dozen Flambeau Stormfront Mallard decoys for $20 (they were on sale) and did alright plus developed my likes and dislikes and learned what to look for in products (this past year was my first). Since then I bought a new call (RNT shortbarrel) and some more decoys (still Stormfront).

Don't cheap out on waders and camo though, I made a huge mistake there and was miserable for a couple of weeks in the cold...
><>bk
bkmaine
hunter

Postby BGipson » Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:36 am

I like the Quackhead series of calls, they are the polycarb line that RNT produces. I learned on a J-frame and a Double J. As for deeks, see what you can find on craigslist for cheap and just use those to get started unless you are made of money, then we can all come up with a great shopping list of deeks for you :wink:
Every day I try to be the person my dog thinks I am. If I have accomplished this when my time comes, I feel I will have had a pretty good life.

FowlGrunt Field Staff
BGipson
hunter

Postby NC Wood Duck Hunter » Tue Jul 03, 2012 1:28 pm