Lily pads a problem?

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: Token, duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake

Lily pads a problem?

Postby dettmer13 » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:01 pm

Hey y'all. I'm new to duck hunting this season and found a decent spot where I've seen ducks land and work. The body of water is a good sized area with beavers dams and timber all thru it. The only thing is it's mostly covered in lily pads. I have a few questions. WIll the lily pads affect how the ducks land on the water? and also, will this affect how my decoy spread should look? Thanks in advance.
dettmer13
hunter

Re: Lily pads a problem?

Postby SQUAWKnemi » Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:32 pm

if you are hunting mostly local birds they are going to be a pain... lilies tangled on ur lines and retrieving ducks are a pain at the spot we hunt loaded with lilies because you sink knee deep in the mud. but once the push starts and it starts to get cold youll see all the lilies are gone and they wont be an issue at all
Some QUack And We Kill
SQUAWKnemi
hunter

Postby SouthernWingsAssaultTeam » Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:21 pm

I hunt the exact type of habitat and they will die off.But i also try to keep them killed off the best i can bc a duck wont land on the lily pads they will land outside of them and swim around/in them from wut ive seen.if there not where you wont them to land you should be ok
Rodney Hill
Echo championship calls prostaff
Avian X Fieldstaff
SouthernWingsAssaultTeam
hunter

Postby 1diverdown » Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:10 pm

Maybe try a spinning wing decoy in the lillys?
''Criticism may not be agreeable, but it is necessary. It fulfils the same function as pain in the human body. It calls attention to an unhealthy state of things.''
Winston Churchill
1diverdown
hunter

Postby CutEm214 » Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:29 pm