New To Mass Duck hunting

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: Token, duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake

New To Mass Duck hunting

Postby JohnnyA » Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:36 pm

Hi
Im brand new to duck hunting and was wondering for any advice. Id like to sick to puddle ducks and stay away from the ocean. I m in Wilmington Massachusetts

Thanks John
JohnnyA
Newb

Re: New To Mass Duck hunting

Postby Frank Lopez » Sat Aug 18, 2012 9:44 am

Hi John,

Welcome to DHC and welcome to the wonderful world of waterfowling! I can't help you much with hunting in Mass., but I can mention that you might not want to overlook the ocean. At least not the bays and tidal marshes. Being not to much further south here on Long Island, I can tell you that hunting salt marshes can be very productive for puddlers. In fact, come January, all the inland fresh water ponds and lakes freeze up, so the only game in town is the salt marsh. Coastal areas like these are productive throughout the season.

Frank
I feel slightly sorry for a man who has never patterned his gun, who has no idea how far his chosen load will retain killing penetration. But I'm extremely sorry for the ducks he shoots at beyond the killing range of his gun and load - Bob Brister
Frank Lopez
hunter

Postby JohnnyA » Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:47 am

Thanks Frank i never thought to try out the salt marshes there are a a lot near me.
JohnnyA
Newb

Postby honkerhuntin » Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:06 pm