landing zone?

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: Token, duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake

landing zone?

Postby teal12 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:07 pm

This is my first year duck hunting and i was wanting to ask how big should my landing zone be for teal? I also will be hunting woodies and mallards but all at seperate times. What would be a good landing zone size for each of these. i have half a dozen bwt deks and half a dozen woodie deeks. then i have about thirty mallard deeks.
teal12
hunter

Re: landing zone?

Postby Hick4221 » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:37 pm

It all depends on the groups you are seeing. If you are seeing singles and pairs you don't need a landing zone large enough for 20, and vice versa
And God blessed them, and God said to them, "Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth and subdue it; and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the air and over every living thing that moves upon the earth.Gen 1:28
Hick4221
hunter

Postby Tipsntails7 » Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:08 pm

To me this depends on what your hunting where your hunting and the conditions. In timber, marsh, or potholes? For blue bird days with no wind mallards don't really need a landing zone as long as the flocks are not to big. They have no problem dropping right in the middle of deeks, windy wet weather days I use the deeks as guide, I try to funnel them into the hole, woodies are a little different haven't really hunted woodies only but I do know they fly more like a diver as in lower and don't land vertical as much as horizontal(at least on the river where I seethem).
Last edited by Tipsntails7 on Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
How's my spelling WTN10

ByersFarm wrote:Barrel stickers are about as cool as a handjob on your honeymoon?

DUCK-DAWG wrote:I would feel safer straddling a pool noodle than paddling along in that widowmaker.
Tipsntails7
hunter