River ducks

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: Token, duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake

River ducks

Postby m3500 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:21 pm

This is a question for all you river hunting guys. 1. How many decoys do you usually use and brand. 2. What choke and brand of load, what oz shot and shot size. And lastely what range you tipicaly shoot your ducks.Now I know there's some of gray areas as far as situations and such but in general for hunting medium to large ducks. I'm asking cause I'm still relatively new to hunting rivers and just wanted to know what some of you guys use.
If it flies it dies, if it just sits there it dies too.
m3500
hunter

Re: River ducks

Postby Oklahoma Greenhead » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:37 pm

In my experience, rivers can be feast or famine. Usually they are alot better when it gets COLD! Once temps drop and water starts getting frozen up, these rivers are the only water that stays open for a ways around. When it comes to numbers of decoys, use what youre seeing. Mainly ill set up about 2 doz floaters (mallard, pins, and gadwall) then maybe a doz full body mallards and doz geese. In regards to your shot size and all that. I shoot 3in 3's. Thats what i shoot all the time. Your shot distance shouldnt change just because youre on a river. Just keep in mind that the birds that you kill are gonna be in flowing water so get ready to jump out and head down stream!
"QUACK 'em, WHACK 'em, STACK 'em"

Mashin' Mallards since 1991
Oklahoma Greenhead
hunter

Postby jack lowe » Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:25 pm