Saltwater/brackish marshes for puddle ducks

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: Token, duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake

Saltwater/brackish marshes for puddle ducks

Postby canis » Mon Sep 30, 2013 10:34 pm

I'm relatively new to marsh duck hunting and I would like to know more about hunting them for puddle ducks. This is the main source of water where I live, and I have heard it's not much like hunting lakes or rivers. There's not a whole lot of information on the internet about it, so I wanted to ask you all if you had any tips or advice. Any info on decoy species/spreads or any kind of general info would be appreciated.
"You may all go to hell, and I will go to Texas" -Davy Crockett
canis
hunter

Re: Saltwater/brackish marshes for puddle ducks

Postby Frank Lopez » Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:17 pm

Hi Canis and welcome to DHC. Salt or brackish water for puddlers is not that big a deal. Mostly, you'll be hunting larger water, so you may want a few more decoys than you would on small ponds or lakes. As far as decoy species, stick with the species of birds you typically see. Here on Long Island, there is very little freshwater hunting for ducks. Fortunately, the birds don't seem to mind one bit. We hunt mostly two different ways, from an accessable shoreline or from a boat. When we walk in, we typically carry anywhere between 18 and 36 decoys. I usually carry the larger amount, the reason being that if I have them with me, I can put them out. If I don't, I'm out of luck.