Etiquette Question: Should I be a little upset?

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: The Cat Island Drake, Token, duckbuster06

Etiquette Question: Should I be a little upset?

Postby Cold » Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:15 am

I'm only in my second year of hunting ducks seriously, so I'm not sure if I should be as annoyed as I am about how my hunt went down on Saturday...after the blind etiquette thread, I figured I'd ask.

Basically, I was running a bit late in the morning, but still managed to get my complete spread out, and settle into a hiding spot about ten minutes before LST. Around 8am, these two guys and their dog come in from the opposite side of the creek, talking loudly. I thought they might be after pheasants at first, but I can hear them talking about setting up. I specifically hear one of them say, "Someone has a spread right there."

They move about 3-400 yards downstream, and start setting up.

I'm not thrilled at all the noise, but whatever. After about 15-20 minutes of banging decoys around and the dog splashing around in the creek, they quiet down...but leave their blaze orange hats on. The quiet doesn't last, and one of them starts on a call that, even to this lousy caller, sounded more like a kazoo than a bird.

Eventually, a few groups came in, but none came close until a group of three that flew upstream, past them without a second glance, and right as they would pass me, I hit the call. They made a wide high loop around me once, and when I called again they dropped a bit, and started to make another wide loop.

As they looped around, these guys open up on them when their loop takes them closest to their spot...but the ducks are about 80 yards out from me, and at least 200 yards from them. Needless to say, the ducks flare and that was the last decent chance I had all morning.