German Wirehaired Pointers for waterfowl

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake, Token

German Wirehaired Pointers for waterfowl

Postby kar6man6 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:32 pm

Not looking for a lab vs wirehair debate. Just looking for some opinions from people that have them and have hunted waterfowl with GWPs. What are your opinions of them as duck hunting dogs? pros and cons compared to labs? How cold of temperatures are they comfortable hunting in? Assuming that they are sitting in a boat or on a stand out of the water. I've been hunting with my lab for the past 8 years but she has suddenly begun having seizure on a bi-weekly basis and now refuses to have anything to do with water so it is time for a new dog. Thank you for any help.
kar6man6
hunter

Re: German Wirehaired Pointers for waterfowl

Postby SDduckhunter23 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:25 pm