when to start calling

Information on duck calls and duck calling tips.

Moderators: okiequacker, callinfowl, stumpjumper, Mallyard

when to start calling

Postby Humboldt Drake » Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:42 pm

im new to duck hunting, my first season wasn't much of a success. i think it was because of my calling i need a few tips on what to blow and when to blow, also how nessecary is calling? some of my friends dont call and they get thier limit almost every hunt.
Humboldt Drake
hunter

Postby donell67 » Tue Oct 19, 2004 9:11 pm

get some calling cds and practice.i wouldnt call while hunting.tell you get good at it.if your a good caller its good if your a bad caller you just scare the ducks away.you can still get ducks without calling.i heard a guy calling sounded like he was blowing a kazoo.
donell67
Forum & State Moderator

Calling

Postby ks_waterfowler » Tue Oct 19, 2004 9:20 pm

I call very little. No highball or feeding call. Just a few quacks and I use a drake whistle some. I killed at least 3 ducks every time I went out and have shot tons of ducks using this method. The blowhard city guys get em spooked quick out here. Seems like everyone with a gun and a couple decoys thinks they can call and hunt.
whistlin_wings wrote:I grew up in a neighborhood with only 3 pools and a public golf course. Thug life is all I know.
ks_waterfowler
hunter

Postby DuckKillinD » Thu Oct 21, 2004 6:28 am

i use a hail call about 2 times 2 try an get there attention, if there interested an start turning, as they get close i may give them a few chuckles of a feeding call may be some suttle quacks an boom, wing r cuped, birds r dropping, an my gun is sreamin.
call'em in haul'em out
DuckKillinD
hunter

Postby ol' yeller » Thu Oct 21, 2004 7:15 am

When in doubt shut up. I mostly hunt big water and hail calls have worked for me. Once they get inside of 350 yards I quiet down to quacks and feed call.

If you're not confident in your calling skills don't call when they get in close.

yeller