ECHO Timber?

Information on duck calls and duck calling tips.

Moderators: callinfowl, stumpjumper, Mallyard, okiequacker

ECHO Timber?

Postby VTduckman » Fri Feb 03, 2006 5:51 pm

good call? Hard to blow? Best for? Should i get a double or single?(im not that good at calling but want a decent call for when i am good)
Season Totals-
Canada's-Alot
2 Mallards
2 Blacks
15 Green Wing
5 Wood Ducks
1 Can.
1 Pintail
Hooded Merganser
VTduckman
hunter

Postby Gooseboy » Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:27 pm

Never had one but definatly go with a double reed.
The group ended up with 420 birds.

(\__/) This is my bunny. There
(='.'=) are many like him but this
(")_(")one is mine. Cut and paste the bunny into your signature to help the bunny gain world domination !
Gooseboy
Banned

Postby Bret » Sat Feb 04, 2006 7:13 am

I really like the Echo Timber calls. I wish I still had one but like all things calls come and go in my collection. They are a softer sounding call and a pretty good hunting call for that situation. I know a lot of guys that only blow timber calls, and I find that I use a timber type call %60-%70 of the time when hunting. I think and this is just my ever so humble opinion....If you want a call for "when you get good" as you stated I would buy it in a single. I like the sound of that call so much better as a single, and if you are comited to learn the call and are going to work at it you should learn the single. If you are good with a single you can blow any double or single well.
Now if you want to just get good enough to kill a few ducks with as little effort put forth to learn as possible. You should probably start on a double, but latter should you decide to learn a single you may have to unlearn some things, learn some others, and forget about a few other things.lol

When students ask me what to do single or double...if they ask. I tell them this same spill.... to me it depends on what kind of person you are, and how good you want to be.

just my .02

Bret