Newbie questions

Information on duck calls and duck calling tips.

Moderators: okiequacker, callinfowl, stumpjumper, Mallyard

Newbie questions

Postby TWP » Sat Dec 25, 2004 9:07 am

Hey Duck Calling Experts,

I am a senior at Texas Tech in Lubbock and being new to the forum and duck hunting I was curious as to what kinds and number of calls I should use most of the time. A couple of my buddies are big time hunters and they have all sorts of calls. However, they both said all I need is a mallard, whistle and a goose call. What do all of you think? How about suggestions for a poor college kid. I already have a Duck Commander call that one of them gave to me for a mallard call. Also, how is the best way to learn calling, and how do I get a hold of them? Thanks a lot guys. I've hunted absolutely everything and I absolutely love this crazy, cold and wet game!!!!
TWP
hunter

Postby ibhuntin » Sat Dec 25, 2004 6:37 pm

I personally have 2 mallard calls (DC Smoke and Ole Raspy) the Smoke is my Highballer and Raspy is my more quiet call, then I have a whistle (DC also) and a Big River Flute goose call.
***All your waterfowl are belong to me***
ibhuntin
hunter

Postby KO » Sat Dec 25, 2004 7:22 pm

Personally I carry 2 mallard calls,,,both of them I made...one is a single the other a double reed for close in work...As far as goose calls...again I carry one of mine and its a short reed...I think a short reed is the only way to go...you can Canadas, snows, and specks with the same call....
KO
hunter

Postby TXwaterfowler » Sat Dec 25, 2004 10:05 pm

Yep the best thing to carry right now would be a double reed Mallard call I carry just one and thats the Ole Raspy by Buck Gardner the the whistle and goose call wouldnt be to bad to bring but i wouldnt blow on them until you have a moderate skill to blow them. A lot of "whistle ducks" are very pitcular on the call and respond skidish if the presentation isnt right.