JJ Lares Questions

Information on duck calls and duck calling tips.

Moderators: stumpjumper, Mallyard, okiequacker, callinfowl

JJ Lares Questions

Postby bhroberts1 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:19 am

Hello all

I would like to thank the DHC community for turning in me on to the JJ Lares call. I am glad I spent the money and got such a fine piece. As of right now I have the Hybrid which I purchased last year.

Question 1: Is there any reason to add an A-5 to the lanyard?

Question 2: How are the JJ Lares goose calls compared to a Foiles for ease of use (I am an extreme rookie on goose calling)?

Question 3: Am I going to get a different tone with JJ Lares wood calls, enough that I would add one to the lanyard?

Thank you,

BHR
bhroberts1
hunter

Re: JJ Lares Questions

Postby mayhem96 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:06 am

bhroberts1 wrote:Hello all

I would like to thank the DHC community for turning in me on to the JJ Lares call. I am glad I spent the money and got such a fine piece. As of right now I have the Hybrid which I purchased last year.

Question 1: Is there any reason to add an A-5 to the lanyard?

Question 2: How are the JJ Lares goose calls compared to a Foiles for ease of use (I am an extreme rookie on goose calling)?

Question 3: Am I going to get a different tone with JJ Lares wood calls, enough that I would add one to the lanyard?

Thank you,

BHR

Question 1: The A-5 is the loudest call Joe makes. If you are looking for something very loud, the A-5 is what you want. However, it doesn't quite have the low end of the Hybrid or T-1 IMHO. The T-1 and Hybrid are both plenty loud for what I do and can do everything I need a call to do. With that said, the A-5 has an awesome look. I hope to add a checkered black or ivory one real soon to my collection :yes: :yes:

I have no idea on question 2 as I have never run Joe's goose calls. I hope that changes soon though!