Rem 870 not ejecting 3" shells anymore

A shotgun forum for basic gun smithing, repair, modifications, and all other detailed shotgun information.

Moderators: waterfowlhunter, don taylor

Postby adrenilinejunky » Tue May 08, 2012 12:03 pm

I have an old 870 wingmaster that was handed down to me when I was a boy and its no longer ejecting 3" shells. I use this a my primary waterfowl gun mainly for sentimental reasons and would like to fix the problem if its reasonably affordable to do. I read somewhere that it most likely is the ejection clip and spring are worn out but I havent taken it in to have it looked at. Anybody know where I could get the clip and spring to try that first before spending alot of money to have it fixed?
Waterfowl hunting is not just a sport, Its an addiction to some of us.
adrenilinejunky
hunter

Re: Rem 870 not ejecting 3" shells anymore

Postby aunt betty » Tue May 08, 2012 2:51 pm

I had the same thing happen on several of my Remington 870's. You have to decide several things. First you have to decide who to have repair the shotgun. It will take a gunsmith to do what you need. I've been there, done that and here's what I did.

I took my shotgun to a gunsmith and told him I didn't want a fancy job but just wanted it to function. Here's why...
The gunsmith has to drill or pound the studs out that hold that spring on/in. When he puts the new ejector spring in he has a special tool that fastens the new spring in but it leaves a hunk of metal on the outside of the shotgun. It has to be ground down and then polished. Then the whole shotgun has to be re-blued etc.

I couldn't afford all that and asked the gunsmith to just put the new spring in and then turn it over to me. Here's what it looks like now. Notice how the side isn't smooth but has bumps or nubs where the spring goes.
DSCF0394.jpg
DSCF0395.jpg

It's not a big deal to me but surely brings the shotgun's value way down.