proper cleaning

A shotgun forum for basic gun smithing, repair, modifications, and all other detailed shotgun information.

Moderators: waterfowlhunter, don taylor

proper cleaning

Postby acarls57 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:55 pm

I started shooting a year ago and have been using just a basic ottis cleaning kit for my mossberg but I plan on upgrading to a browning a5 do I need to purchase higher quality cleaning kit to take care of it?
acarls57
hunter

Re: proper cleaning

Postby william costa » Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:00 pm

any cleaning kit will work.its the process that matters.
william costa
hunter

Postby apexhunter » Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:23 am

Your Otis kit is just fine. Anything else possibly needed would be good solvent/cleaner and a good lube of your choice.

All a smaller BASIC shotgun cleaning kit needs is a small jar of powder solvent, half of an old cotton tee shirt, a bore snake, a small can/bottle of good gun oil (preferrably aerosol) and a phillips & regular screwdriver...and this all fits into a gallon zip-loc freezer bag. This will take care of most on the fly cleaning needs one may encounter while hunting. My large kit has other equipment for a complete breakdown, clean, lube & reassemble for after the hunt and prior to the gun going back into the safe.