A5 ring bulge - what to do

A shotgun forum for basic gun smithing, repair, modifications, and all other detailed shotgun information.

Moderators: waterfowlhunter, don taylor

A5 ring bulge - what to do

Postby wineyarders » Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:43 pm

I bought a beater Belgium A5 magnum for the salt marsh this year and ended up with a small ring bulge at the end of the barrel. As you can see in the picture, it's pretty close to the end and is relatively minor. From what I've read it's not uncommon to get a bulge at the choke when shooting steel shot through these barrels. I'm looking for some advice as to what to do. I'm not going to buy a new invector barrel as it would cost more than the gun cost. My preference would be be to just leave it be as long as it won't affect performance or result in a shredded barrel. There is a slight bulge in the rib as well but I don't think it would dramatically affect aim, but I'm a relative novice and could be wrong. If the rib deformation is an issue, any chance just the rib could be resurfaced and the bead replaced? In addition, I'm not sure if the shot pattern will change as a result of the bulge. I could probably have the barrel cut down, which I think would leave me with about 26" of barrel. Not sure I'd just end up with another bulge or how costly it would be to have it cut. In retrospect I wish I had bought a gun compatible with steel, and will probably delegate this as a loaner/back up and pick up an M2 or Affinity. Any thoughts? Thanks,

Ryan
Attachments
IMG_20130124_192717.jpg
wineyarders
hunter

Re: A5 ring bulge - what to do

Postby jeepman » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:17 pm