Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

A shotgun forum for basic gun smithing, repair, modifications, and all other detailed shotgun information.

Moderators: waterfowlhunter, don taylor

Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby billybob123 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 1:28 pm

Anyone here have an older Remington 1100 and had screw in chokes put on it? I have a couple of older ones, probably 20+ years old and would like to have the barrels threaded for screw in chokes. I think Briley does it but man it's way expensive. Anyone here had their done?
billybob123
hunter
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:04 am


Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby A5Mag12 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:26 pm

Just buy another barrel.
A5Mag12
hunter
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:26 pm
Location: La-Tx

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby cluckmeister » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:16 pm

Billybob, a friend of mine bought a NIB 1971 3 inch mag model 1100 off of Gunbroker,

He had this company install the choke tubes for him, Carlson Choke Tubes, they did an excellent job

720 South Second Street
PO Box 162
Atwood, Kansas 67730
785-626-3700

This the price from their web site.

Remington Flush Choke Installation (12 GA ONLY)
Includes three flush chokes and 2 wrenches. (Min. OD of .875" required)
$150.00 Plus freight
If you're there for the limit, you're there for the wrong reason
cluckmeister
hunter
 
Posts: 1928
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: Central Kansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby A5Mag12 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:41 pm

A5Mag12
hunter
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:26 pm
Location: La-Tx

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby 10gaOkie » Sat Mar 29, 2014 6:19 am

I might add, when having this done to a barrel that already does not have enough meat to do this, leaves you with a very thin barrel were the new threads are cut. You not only have thin wall chokes installed now but your barrel is much thinner to boot. Shooting steel shot through a aftermarket installed choke is not something that I would cherish doing. In other words, if shooting steel shot, a complete waist of money having this done.
Another option would be to find a Hastings Wadlock barrel that is for either the 1100 or 11/87, both will fit your 1100. My 1100 is a 2 3/4" chamber version action. Yet, after I installed a HWL barrel with 3" chamber, it will digest 3" shells all day long. I bought my barrel for my 1100 off of gunbroke.com for $125 several years ago NIB. The HWL barrels seem to be fetching higher prices these days but certainly a better option than having chokes installed in a barrel not meant for a choke tube.

Chris
10gaOkie
hunter
 
Posts: 2987
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: OKC

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby waterfowlhunter » Sat Mar 29, 2014 6:40 am

It is actually more cost effective to sell your old barrels (Gunbroker) and buy factory replacement barrels with choke tubes (again Gunbroker). There are those out there that want the old fixed choke barrels for clays and upland hunting and will buy your old barrels. :thumbsup:
"A free people ought to be armed" George Washington 1790

‘For those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither Liberty nor safety.’ —Ben Franklin.”
User avatar
waterfowlhunter
Forum & State Moderator
 
Posts: 3738
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 4:53 am
Location: Linden, MI

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby cluckmeister » Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:41 pm

Okie are you saying a 1100 barrel will fit a 11-87? Ive never heard of any such thing and here is a FAQ off of Remington

copied directly from the Remington Help Center;

Question

Can I fit my Model 1100 shotgun with a Model 1187 pressure compensated barrel and shoot both field & magnum loads?

Answer

Although the Model 1100 and Model 1187 shotguns are very similar in design we do not recommend that the barrels be interchanged between models. The extractors and corresponding extractor cuts in the barrel extensions differ. The locations of the barrel seal grooves in the magazine tubes are in slightly different places. Most of all it is an unsafe practice to exchange parts between models unless it is a documented fact that the different models use the same parts.

I have quoted this for general interest.

They are Remingtons words, not mine.
If you're there for the limit, you're there for the wrong reason
cluckmeister
hunter
 
Posts: 1928
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: Central Kansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby 10gaOkie » Sun Mar 30, 2014 5:58 am

I didnt say that. I said, a Hastings barrel marked 1100 and one marked 11/87 will interchange on the 1100, A while back, I ordered a set of 11/87 wood stocks that fit my 1100 just fine replacing the synthetic stocks. I have never owned a 11/87 but I have put 11/87 parts on my 1100.

Chris
10gaOkie
hunter
 
Posts: 2987
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: OKC

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby baltz526 » Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:01 am

I have a choke reaming tool being shipped to me. It should be here april 2nd. I plan on using it to open a Remington 1100 32" full choke .685" to .700" to .710" depending on where it patterns 3" steel B best. Total cost for tool and 4oz cutting fluid shipped is less than $50 from midway. Mike Orlen has a link on shotgunworld, I checked his price for installing choke tubes. with 2way shipping it was $90 plus choke tubes.
OHA life member Lapine oregon
User avatar
baltz526
hunter
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:29 pm
Location: Lapine Oregon

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby cluckmeister » Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:37 am

Chris, so youre saying a 11-87 barrel will fit a 1100? or am I missing something .
If you're there for the limit, you're there for the wrong reason
cluckmeister
hunter
 
Posts: 1928
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: Central Kansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby POKER1 » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:25 pm

Just buy a steelshot 3" VR barrel with Remchoke for your 1100. Works with older 2 3/4" only guns with hunting loads but could have issues with really light target type loads due to the difference in the porting. As already mentioned you can sell your old barrel on gunbroker or even Ebay and recoup some of the cost. If you go this route you should test the new barrel with any light load you shoot before getting rid of the old one. I bought a 26" steelshot barrel and it works fine with 1oz and heavier hunting loads. Never had any issues.

And as Okie said some parts interchange but I have never tried to swap a barrel between an 1100 and 11-87. In fact butt stocks from a 870, 1100 and 11-87 are one and the same and forends for the 1100 and 11-87 interchange also. So for anyone looking for synthetic or especially youth stocks for an 1100 you can just buy a 870 youth butt stock. You can't find youth stocks marked for a 1100 or 11-87.
User avatar
POKER1
hunter
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 4:16 pm

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby z51 » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:20 am

cluckmeister wrote:Chris, so youre saying a 11-87 barrel will fit a 1100? or am I missing something .


The answer is yes. You may have do to a little fitting work on your fore end to get a good fit on the gas chamber.
z51
hunter
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:02 am
Location: Central Arkansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby z51 » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:25 am

billybob123 wrote:Anyone here have an older Remington 1100 and had screw in chokes put on it? I have a couple of older ones, probably 20+ years old and would like to have the barrels threaded for screw in chokes. I think Briley does it but man it's way expensive. Anyone here had their done?


The answer is yes you can. Rem Chokes are not a fit however you will need to go to the Tru Choke pattern. That's what most Smiths use anyway.

If you go over to Shotgunworld and register, then go to the Gunsmithing Forum you will find member pricing by Mike Orlen at the top of the page, he is les than Carlson and Briley an d does great work.
z51
hunter
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:02 am
Location: Central Arkansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby z51 » Mon Mar 31, 2014 2:15 pm

POKER1 wrote:Just buy a steelshot 3" VR barrel with Remchoke for your 1100. Works with older 2 3/4" only guns with hunting loads but could have issues with really light target type loads due to the difference in the porting. As already mentioned you can sell your old barrel on gunbroker or even Ebay and recoup some of the cost. If you go this route you should test the new barrel with any light load you shoot before getting rid of the old one. I bought a 26" steelshot barrel and it works fine with 1oz and heavier hunting loads. Never had any issues.

And as Okie said some parts interchange but I have never tried to swap a barrel between an 1100 and 11-87. In fact butt stocks from a 870, 1100 and 11-87 are one and the same and forends for the 1100 and 11-87 interchange also. So for anyone looking for synthetic or especially youth stocks for an 1100 you can just buy a 870 youth butt stock. You can't find youth stocks marked for a 1100 or 11-87.




The older 870 butt stocks won't interchange between it and the 1100, the hole is too small. You would need a deep hole drill to enlarge the hole. The newer synthetics have the larger hole.
z51
hunter
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:02 am
Location: Central Arkansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby clampdaddy » Mon Mar 31, 2014 5:32 pm

R&D Barrel Works (Americhoke) cut a smooth bore 870 slug barrel for rem chokes for me. Cost me something like sixtey five bucks. Their website lists the barrel diameter specs required for the various choke tube designs.
User avatar
clampdaddy
hunter
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Where spoonies go to die

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby z51 » Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:49 am

clampdaddy wrote:R&D Barrel Works (Americhoke) cut a smooth bore 870 slug barrel for rem chokes for me. Cost me something like sixtey five bucks. Their website lists the barrel diameter specs required for the various choke tube designs.


That's a different barrel. I have one. Mine measures .885" od at the muzzle. My 1100 full barrel measures .840" at the muzzle. That's a big difference.
z51
hunter
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:02 am
Location: Central Arkansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby clampdaddy » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:05 am

z51 wrote:
clampdaddy wrote:R&D Barrel Works (Americhoke) cut a smooth bore 870 slug barrel for rem chokes for me. Cost me something like sixtey five bucks. Their website lists the barrel diameter specs required for the various choke tube designs.


That's a different barrel. I have one. Mine measures .885" od at the muzzle. My 1100 full barrel measures .840" at the muzzle. That's a big difference.


Just giving him an idea of what it cost me and where he can look to see specs to determine which choke he can have installed in his gun. The muzzle on my slug barrel measured out exactly the same as the muzzle on my express' 28" barrel so rem chokes were an easy fit. I have no idea what his will barrel measure out like.
User avatar
clampdaddy
hunter
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Where spoonies go to die

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby z51 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:27 am

clampdaddy wrote:
z51 wrote:
clampdaddy wrote:R&D Barrel Works (Americhoke) cut a smooth bore 870 slug barrel for rem chokes for me. Cost me something like sixtey five bucks. Their website lists the barrel diameter specs required for the various choke tube designs.


That's a different barrel. I have one. Mine measures .885" od at the muzzle. My 1100 full barrel measures .840" at the muzzle. That's a big difference.


Just giving him an idea of what it cost me and where he can look to see specs to determine which choke he can have installed in his gun. The muzzle on my slug barrel measured out exactly the same as the muzzle on my express' 28" barrel so rem chokes were an easy fit. I have no idea what his will barrel measure out like.


And I was making the point that Rem chokes won't work in 1100 barrels.
z51
hunter
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:02 am
Location: Central Arkansas

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby clampdaddy » Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:23 pm

Yeah, you already did that earlier.
User avatar
clampdaddy
hunter
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Where spoonies go to die

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby baltz526 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:02 pm

baltz526 wrote:I have a choke reaming tool being shipped to me. It should be here april 2nd. I plan on using it to open a Remington 1100 32" full choke .685" to .700" to .710" depending on where it patterns 3" steel B best. Total cost for tool and 4oz cutting fluid shipped is less than $50 from midway. Mike Orlen has a link on shotgunworld, I checked his price for installing choke tubes. with 2way shipping it was $90 plus choke tubes.
Used the reamer today. Pretty easy process to take it from .685" out to .700" Then I polished the cut, cleaned it and cold blued. Turned out very well cosmetically. I will shoot some patterns To see if .700 is a good stopping place.
OHA life member Lapine oregon
User avatar
baltz526
hunter
 
Posts: 961
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:29 pm
Location: Lapine Oregon

Re: Putting screw in chokes in an 1100

Postby REM1100 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:13 am

I had a gunsmith use a reamer on my full to .710 years ago for $65 and I have been using it for steel with #1 patterns well. One gunsmith told me he could put in some winchoke screw in chokes for $250
on the X in Saskatchewan
User avatar
REM1100
Provincial Moderator
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Western Canada


Return to Shotgun Repair & Modifications Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests