Duck Hunting Forum banner

New shotgun fit

3K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  3200 man 
#1 ·
Just bought my first new shotgun that comes with shims so in a total newbie at adjustments . My question is when I shoulder the gun I see a fair amount of the rib. Is this something I ca fix with adjusting the stock or is it a problem with how I mount the gun? Thanks a lot!

#2 ·
You say a fair amount of the rib ? Could that be 11/2'' between the beds or what ?
But to be as helpful as I can , I take it for granted you are mounting the gun in a normal position looking down the
barrel with your pupil center of the rib , where as the back bed is touching the front bed ? This should be step # 1
as it only can be done with your head ( very slightly ) tilted forward but more in the up-right position ! At that point
the gun should be shooting 50/50 . Step # 2 is your preference as to how much higher you want your POI .
If the impact it off left or right you can adjust this CANT with the proper shim to center the pattern horizontally
which should be Dead Center !

I hope this helps as it's not rocket science to have a shotgun shoot where you're looking ?
Remember though , the patterning board is your friend.....and it won't lie to you !

IMHO :thumbsup:

#3 ·
Its only a single bead gun. I put a different shim in last night and that helped tremendously, and you are correct about the patterning board, it will be my friend in a couple weeks :thumbsup: Thanks!

#4 ·