Cleaning my new gun and broken gun

A shotgun forum for basic gun smithing, repair, modifications, and all other detailed shotgun information.

Moderators: waterfowlhunter, don taylor

Cleaning my new gun and broken gun

Postby GDonham » Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:12 pm

Hello, this is my first time here. I have what is probably a stupid question but, I baby my guns. This past weekend we went hunting at the coast. I shot 1 bird then looked over at my buddy who was cussin. His gun broke after one shot (I'm not sure he even hit anything) I told him that I would share my gun with him. I shot one more bird then tried to pump it and my gun was busted!! What are the chances of 2 guns breaking with in 5 minutes. Mine can be fixed but his can not. Anyways I was mad and had to single shot it the rest of the evening. Nothing like having your fingers pinched but I was determined to finish hunting. That evening I bought a new gun since we had already paid for a morning hunt (ok I really wanted another gun). I bought a Stoeger 2000 camo. How do I clean it? I'm worried about messing up the camo. Another question I have is how do I stop my "old" gun from rusting. The salt really did some damage to it. I cleaned and oiled it and the rust is back today!

Genevieve
Genevieve
GDonham
hunter

Postby BADDUCK » Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:33 pm

You can use a product like "Break Free" to wipe down the exterior of both guns. Don't use WD-40 or other solvent on the exterior. 0000 steel wool with Break Free rubbed lightly on the rusted areas will help. Keep that gun oily on the exterior while storing.
ARE YOU GONNA PULL THOSE PISTOLS OR WHISTLE DIXIE?
BADDUCK
Membership Temporarily Suspended

Postby GDonham » Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:42 pm