HELP!!

A shotgun forum for basic gun smithing, repair, modifications, and all other detailed shotgun information.

Moderators: waterfowlhunter, don taylor

HELP!!

Postby R-Factor » Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:37 pm

This is my first year owning a Browning BPS and love it- with the exception of one problem. Many times when I shoot it, especially when pass shooting, it really punishes my face- particularly high on my cheek. I grew up in a hunting family and have shot a number of both rifles and shotguns...and have never had this problem before. Even the 3.5" shells aren't too bad on the shoulder, but blister my face so bad that my cheek was swollen throughout a lot of October. What gives? Have you guys ever had this problem? Obviously, it's the way I'm holding the gun, as I know many BPS owners don't have this problem, but what should I do? The only thing I can think of is that my length of pull may need to lengthened? What are your thought on this? The problem is only magnified when shooting three and half's, but still a problem shooting 2 3/4"....Thanks a ton for any recommendations or thoughts on this. :oops: :huh:
R-Factor
hunter

Postby MOSSBERG935 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:05 am

sounds to me like you are aiming the shotgun instead of pointing it. your face should not be laid down on the stock of a shotgun, but the shotgun should be brought up to your eye level....

try practicing by keeping your head straight and bringing your shotgun up to where you have a good sight picture without moving your head. the buttstock (recoil pad) will be a little higher than the top of your shoulder, this is fine.

you may also need to trim up some of the stock to fit you better.
MOSSBERG935
hunter

Re: HELP!!

Postby BADDUCK » Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:52 am