TEACH AN OLD DOG NEW TRICKS??

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: hunt-chessies, HNTFSH, captainkevan, swampbilly 1980

TEACH AN OLD DOG NEW TRICKS??

Postby POAKBOATpeter » Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:21 pm

Okay guys here's the deal. A buddy of mine is going through some tough times and I accepted to adopt his 2.5 yr old yellow lab. I have no experience training a retreiver. My dog black lab Slick was trained at a kennel. Anyways this dog I just adopted is absolutely nuts a real savage of a dog. Not obedient, barks, jumps, etc.. I'll toss a dummy out and she'll fetch it, run off and try to destroy it! I tell her to come but she just runs in cirlces and refuses to bring it back. I can't get her to sit, stay, NOTHING. Is this dog hopeless to train at this age? I have no idea where to begin...I really want to keep her but I'm on a thin line between love and hate. I would send her to a kennel to be trained as well but I just can't afford it these days. Please...what should or could I do?

Peter
POAKBOATpeter
hunter

Postby Ronb » Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:41 pm

I would think that you would be able to train it, but at this age you proabaly will have to go slower than with a pup. Part of what you would be training is the bad habits out. There are plenty of books and videos available and then you will need time, time , and more time. The dog will learn through lots of repetition and since it is older will be obstinate most of the time. Just start at zero and forge ahead. You didn't say if you wanted a well mannered house dog or a gold medal winning hunt tester which would change the way you train. Good luck!! :smile:
Ronb
hunter

Postby ME » Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:20 pm

Since this dog is new to you, you will be able to train it to behave the way that is acceptable to you..

Have you ever noticed how some dogs listen to one person but not to others in the same family..

Same principle...

YOU set the rules!!!!