HOW COLD IS TOO COLD FOR YOU?

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: HNTFSH, hunt-chessies, captainkevan, swampbilly 1980

HOW COLD IS TOO COLD FOR YOU?

Postby TWO GSPS » Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:03 am

I AM NEW TO HUNTING WATERFOWL AND AM USING A GERMAN SHORTHAIRED POINTER. ARE ANY OF YOU GUYS HUNTING WITH THIS BREED OF DOG? IF SO HOW COLD IS TOO COLD IN YOUR OPINION? I LIVE IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA SO IT NEXT TO NEVER FREEZES LOCALLY BUT THE LOWS GET INTO THE 30'S. I JUST BOUGHT A 5MM NEOPRENE CABELAS DOG VEST AND WAS THINKING IF HE WORE THAT AND I DRIED HIM OFF WITH A TOWEL AFTER RETRIEVES HE'D BE ALRIGHT. I HAVE LEFT HIM AT HOME FRO THE LAST HUNT I WENT ON AND HE KNOWS I WENT. MY WIFE SAID HE WHINED AT THE DOOR FOR HOURS AFTER I LEFT HE WANTS TO GO SO BAD.WHAT ARE YOUR 2 CENTS?
TWO GSPS
hunter

Postby O_E_J » Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:16 am

This too is my first year so I do not know how cold too cold is yet but I am sure my lab will tell me when it is too cold. At that point however she can have teh option of staying home or bucking up to the weather. So for me cold is not an issue, in fact I prefer the cold. Listen to your dog it will tell you when too cold is too cold. Take him to the park during the week early in the morning and see how he does that could tell you alot and in a more controlled environment.
OEJ
O_E_J
hunter

Postby TWO GSPS » Wed Dec 08, 2004 10:35 am

OEJ
THANKS FOR THE ADVISE. I'M USING THE SAME METHOD YOU ARE BUT IF I KNOW IN ADVANCE THAT IT'S DEFINATELY TOO COLD THEN I'LL HAVE TO LEAVE HM AT HOME. I DO HAVE AN INSULATED KENNEL TO PUT HIM IF I HAVE TO SO ITS NOT THE END OF THE WORLD IF HE CAN'T STAY OUT.
TWO GSPS
hunter

Postby donell67 » Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:09 am