Self Trained Pics and Stories

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

Self Trained Pics and Stories

Postby gsimmons2 » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:56 pm

I am an amatuer trainer, and im doing it all on my own, i will post some pics tomorrow, but so far, my dogs name is moose, hes a yellow lab, and hes 7 months old, i plan on starting FF within the next few weeks. I just want to hear other stories of self trained pups and even partly self trained, feel free to share any pics also. thanks!
gsimmons2
hunter

Re: Self Trained Pics and Stories

Postby swampbilly 1980 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 5:33 am

Here's a pic of the very first dog I ever "train-ed":

:yes:
Swampbilly1980- I got a feeva',..and the only cure is more Mergansers and face paint.
swampbilly 1980
Forum & State Moderator

Postby sharris » Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:59 am

For my first FF attempt I ended up hiring a professional trainer to help. I paid for 1 hour private training sessions every Sat. morning for a month and then did my "homework" with my dog during the week. The trainer basically trained me to train my dog. The only two real issues I ran into that the trainer promptly corrected was the dog's collar was not on tight enough so I didn't have enough control of her head/ear and I was not using the right amount of pressure to get a quick response. It saved a ton of money and gave me the satisfaction of doing it myself. I am active in my HRC group which has also helped with questions/issues I have run into. The biggest piece of advice I can give you is get help when you need it (either via a HRC or trainer); it will save a lot of time and frustration. FF was a relatively easy process for me to go through because I have an easy dog and I didn't screw it up along the way.
HR Annie Git Your Gun
Bird Retrieves for 2014-15 Season
Duck: 20
Dove: 4
sharris
hunter

Postby quacknstack6 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:06 am