More Help!

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

More Help!

Postby hockeynut » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:09 am

As opening day approaches I have some questions for proper technique in setting up gear with a dog. This is my first season ever with a dog and I am still learning! When you guys set up the decoys, blinds, etc. do you guys allow your dog to walk or run in the water as you set up the decoys or do you put the dog in the truck while you set up or command the dog to stay in the blind (or dog blind) while setting up?

I only ask this because as the colder temperatures approach I don’t want my dog to start out the hunt waiting in the dog blind freezing from being in the water cuz she was running around while I set up the decoys. I have vest for her and will be using that for every hunt.

Thanks
hockeynut
hunter

Re: More Help!

Postby QuackHead89 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:41 am

First thing I do if I'm hunting in the swamp is put the dog's stand on the tree and have him get on it. Doesn't matter if its warm or cold. Now I tend to move with a greater sense of urgency if its cold, I don't want the dog standing in water or swimming because I'm taking my sweet time. Vest or no Vest. He sits there while I set everything up. If hunting one of my other spots where I'm not hunting in water, I place hime where he'll be during the hunt and he just sits there while I do my set up shindig.
QuackHead89
hunter

Postby sharris » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:52 am

I keep my dog sitting on shore while I set up, but it really doesn't matter what you do. If your dog can handle multiple retrieves and then sitting in the blind, it can handle a quick pre-hunt swim. Just make sure when it gets out of the water it has a dry place to sit. And of course, all dogs should be monitored for signs of hypothermia throughout the hunting trip.
HR Annie Git Your Gun
Bird Retrieves for 2014-15 Season