FF or Back Off?

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

FF or Back Off?

Postby rgw06001 » Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:53 pm

Newbie here. I'm new to the forum and new to dog training. I got a black lab back in January, so he's about 9 months old. We have been training him informally since we got him--here, sit, fetch--and he is decent with these commands. He's definitely not rock solid but a good foundation.

At about 6.5 months, I bought 10-minute Retriever by the Dahls. I know I waited too long to start formal gun dog training, but anywhere, here I am. I'm following the book's guidelines pretty closely and began to make some great progress. Mac was retrieving very enthusiastically on a scented bumper, using his nose to find hidden bumpers, retrieving from a pond near my house, etc. I had him do doubles and triples some and he was good to go.

One day, his enthusiasm just dropped off. He would run at the dummy, sniff it, look at me, then timidly walk a few steps away, then run back to me as if he had the thing in his mouth. I had been using a pretty regimented approach--making him wait on leash until I gave him the command to retrieve, making him drop it at my feet on command, etc.

He still heels well, sits on command, and follows very simply commands easily. Did I push him too fast with the formal training? The book I'm using emphasizing not pushing the dog beyond his stress limits and keeping things "playful" at first. Or, on the other hand, is he willfully rejecting my commands? If so, does that mean it's time for FF? I'm leaning towards the too-much-stress answer. I've been simplifying our training sessions (1-2x a day, 10 min at a time) and trying to keep things playful, and he's responding pretty well.