First Timer, who needs some tips, and help!

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: HNTFSH, hunt-chessies, captainkevan, swampbilly 1980

First Timer, who needs some tips, and help!

Postby Rice3 » Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:23 pm

So I just started training my dog and he loves it. He has been paying attention great and is doing great! Sit, stay, here are easy for him now and I have started the process to teach him to heel. We are having a great week of training. I spend about an hour to two hours a day with him (Is this to long? Tips on this, PLEASE). And after about 4 or 5 days of great work the next day it was like he forgot some stuff that he had done perfect the days before. Is this a regular thing or am I doing something wrong? If you have any tips for teaching heeling to, please feel free to share. Thank you! :thumbsup:
Rice3
Newb

Re: First Timer, who needs some tips, and help!

Postby ScaupHunter » Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:34 pm

Breed? How old? hunting lines?

2 to 4 hours is way to long. Most training sessions are 10 to 20 minutes with 10 to 15 being pretty normal. A young dog looses attention span pretty quickly.
Bella's
Decoy Setting Pro Staff
Boat Operator Pro Staff
Duck Shooting Pro Staff
Warm Towel Pro Staff
Snack Supply Pro Staff

He works for free! Who's the B now?
ScaupHunter
hunter

Postby Rice3 » Tue Nov 26, 2013 6:54 pm

He is a black lab/Catahoula mix and catches on well. He is almost two which i know was a late start but I'm still happy with his ability. His parents were bread for coyote hunting, if this is what you mean by hunting lines. I am new to this and don't know all terms but, have been researching.
Rice3
Newb

Postby Mad Dog 21 » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:45 am

ScaupHunter wrote:Breed? How old? hunting lines?

2 to 4 hours is way to long. Most training sessions are 10 to 20 minutes with 10 to 15 being pretty normal. A young dog looses attention span pretty quickly.