Pudelpointer...anyone?

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

Pudelpointer...anyone?

Postby Indafire » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:25 pm

Is there anyone out there who has info on this breed? I can't find much online.
I refuse to engage the unarmed in a battle of wits.
Indafire
hunter

Re: Pudelpointer...anyone?

Postby Griffdom » Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:58 pm

Check out Cedarwoods Pudelpointer's website. Bob Farris is the leading pudelpointer guy in the states. I will get back with more information later. Got to get back to work. By the way, I am on the list for one coming this March.
Griffdom
hunter

Postby Griffdom » Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:22 pm

Not sure what questions you have. I'm no expert on the breed, but I've done a good bit of research and talked with a lot of people. The breed is not AKC recognized and those in control of the breed want to keep it that way. Most in the US are NAVHDA registered. The breed leads the way as the highest scoring breed in the Natural Ability test per capita and has for decades. NAPPA (North American Pudelpointer Alliance) is the main group in the states in control of the breed. Breeders within this group only allow males who have past the Utility test in NAVHDA and females must at least score a 105 out of 112 in the Natural Ability test to be bred. All breeding stock must also pass certain health clearances before being bred. The ones I've seen can run well in the field (some have scored 1st placements in NASTRA field trial events against Pointers and GSP's) and hit the water as hard as any dogs for waterfowl retrieves. They also are said to be good trackers of big and small game. In Germany, in fact, they must be loud on track to be bred now. That means they must give voice when on a hot rabbit track, such as a beagle would. The us breeders don't nessecarily breed for this trait, but they occasionally use European stock so this trait