Duck Hunting Forum banner

Training program?

1K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  GarDuck 
#1 ·
I'm trying to avoid the whole training professional deal since our next pup will be our family pet and hunter on the side? This will be my first time trying to train a waterfowl retriever and I'm new to the whole thing. Any tips and info will be appreciated on the timeline of what kind of training and when to do it as the puppy gets older. Thanks

#2 ·
it doesn't take that new pup long to figure out where it's food is kept,or the word NO! They are learning as soon as you bring them home. I start serious training at 4 months. OB first then move on with hunting :welcome: Watch out` it can be addicting (15 minutes a day, but don't miss too many days in a row) Have fun :beer:

#3 ·
Basics are basics when it comes to starting out with a puppy ... It does not matter what your end goal is ... Hunting dog, HT dog or FT dog. I would suggest either Sound Beginnings from Jackie Mertins or Bill Hillmans's Training a Retriever Puppy. Both give you a good grasp as to what you should be starting out with when training your pup.

Edit ... Sorry just saw your note "without program" but I would still recommend you get one or the other dvd's that will give you a good timeline for your training.

#4 ·
Theres nothing cheap about duck hunting. Programs will run you from $20-$100, and that's a tiny pecentage of the money your dog cost to maintain with food, vet bills, ect...Not to mention all the money spent on gear. Bite the bullet and you will save headache and have a much better obedient dog as well as hunting companion.

#6 ·
Still recommend Hillman and Mertens for puppies. For complete gun dog programs you could look at Rick Stawski's Fowl Dawg series or Evan Graham's Smart Work series

#7 ·
BRAVO!!!
Congrats for being brave enough to buck the Rex Carr based pressure program trend.