Pass/Fail rate

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

Pass/Fail rate

Postby rivercountry » Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:27 am

I am totally new to the hunt test game but have had a great time up to this point training and running my young dog. He ran great in the season level, we ran 4 for 4 and he titled in two weekends. I made a few mistakes but luckily he carried me well. My question is what would be an acceptable pass/fail percentage when running finished level test. I know you should always shoot for 100% but being realistic I know that is not possible. There will be days that you fail a test whether it is due to error on the dog’s part or error on the handler. Hopefully my dog will run his first finish test this weekend. I wasn’t able to get him in this particular event it filled up so quickly but, due to another female coming in season a pro trainer I know may sub him in on their trailer. If not, I already have in the next three events closest to me 3 1/2 hours being the furthers away. Depending on how well he does I don’t think I want to just title him and call it quits but, I don’t want spin my wheels chasing a rainbow that’s not within reach either. I know this question will sound stupid to some but it’s an honest question that I have thought about since we ran seasoned.
True Happiness is in a flooded rice field puttin em in the decoys
rivercountry
hunter

Re: Pass/Fail rate

Postby kwacksmacker » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:18 am