Trouble with collar conditioning any suggestions?

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

Trouble with collar conditioning any suggestions?

Postby luken » Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:01 pm

I just started collar conditioning and it was going well with the place, here, and sit. Then I would throw her fun bumpers and now she walks out about halfway to it and just looks at me. I have to walk out and send her from there and then most of the time shell pick it up other times she'll run out to it and won't pick it up. She has never done this before I started collar conditioning. Also on remote sits while she's away from me she runs all the way to me before she sits. This is my first time training a retriever hoping to get some advice.

Also she has not been force fetched yet
luken
Newb

Re: Trouble with collar conditioning any suggestions?

Postby copterdoc » Sat Jun 07, 2014 5:55 pm

luken wrote:....Also she has not been force fetched yet.....
Don't intermix episodes of applying the E-collar and retrieving, until AFTER the dog has completed collar conditioning, FF, collar fetch, AND FTP.

The pressure of CC, has succeeded in sucking all the "fun" out of the fun bumper.
You can make them fun again, but you have to separate the two. Never mix them together during the same session.
copterdoc
hunter

Postby copterdoc » Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:03 pm

I like to start and end my OB and CC sessions with a few fun bumpers. However, by the time I start formalizing OB (using pressure), I have already spent a lot of time marking, and teaching the dog what a fun bumper is.

By the time I use them as fun bumpers, the dog knows that they are fun, that they mean fun, and the cue(s) that I use before they happen.

And eventually that is what cues the dog that a training session is about to start, or that it is about to end.