Receiving a dog form training

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: hunt-chessies, HNTFSH, captainkevan, swampbilly 1980

Receiving a dog form training

Postby Jhussell » Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:18 pm

I am relatively new to duck hunting. I have never had the opportunity to hunt with a dog.

Over the last year I have managed to find a great pup. He is not for champion lines, but he has excellent desire both to retrieve and to please. I did not have time time or the know how to train him on my own. I sent him to a professional trainer for a 4 month course. I have been in close contact with the trainer and I am very pleased with the progress my dog has made.

My question: what should I expect, and what should I do to keep him sharp and make him better when I receive him back in two months?

Jhussell
Jhussell
Newb

Re: Receiving a dog form training

Postby HNTFSH » Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:39 pm

Doubt you'll be disappointed but the trainer of the dog is the best person to ask. He needs to teach you how to keep the dog honest. And how/what to do to further training based on what's been taught/trained.
Cabela's Worlds FARCEMOST Outfitter
HNTFSH
Mr. Plond

Postby hardcorehunter5 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 3:27 am

Ask the trainer like was suggested. Above all realize it WILL NOT be a finished gun after four months. This early session if for obedience, force fetch w/ force to pile, and simple marks....all of which are dependent on the individual dog's ability.....

-Hardcore

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hardcorehunter5
hunter

Postby Duck Diver » Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:47 am

Learn fast what you need to maintain the standard the dog was taught at.

Because if you don't - you wasted your money and 4 months.

Hopefully you have a trainer willing to help you out w/ issues.
Duck Diver
hunter

Postby Jhussell » Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:30 pm