Proper Motivation

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

Proper Motivation

Postby kkelly » Sat Jul 05, 2014 12:07 pm

Hi Guys,

Like in previous stated posts, I am new to gun dog training and new to puppies. I have a 9 week old pup Male Golden x Black lab. I'm having a hard time with a basic command with him. He has 'sit' down very well when he's in work mode: either I have the treats or his bumper and decently when not in work mode. But "here" is the hard one. He recalls well when I have the treats. But when there are no treats involved, his recall leaves A LOT to be desired. I will have him on a 15' cord on his walks (has to have a leash where I live) and gets distracted like a normal pup. So I give him some time to sniff around and explore. When its time to go I'll give him a "Here boy" and a gentle tug. Nothing. It gets to the point where he will lay down and refuse. Consistently it is when 1) its warm outside and he's sniffing and exploring in the shade and the area I'm calling him to is out of the shade and 2) when we're walking next to a house where there's another dog (even if the dog isn't home). I get frustrated and tug a little less gently (still not yanking him) and he'll start walking and does fine from there or I will pick him up and hold him for the rest of the walk. Any thoughts on what will motivate him to recall? I praise him in excited tones when I don't have treats on me or give him a "Good" or "Good Here". I pet him quite a bit as well. Any ideas?

Am I asking too much too soon and need to just focus on "sit"?
kkelly
hunter

Re: Proper Motivation

Postby HNTFSH » Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:03 pm

I think Hall explains this best but think about this in terms of lifestyle and habits not training.

He's 9 weeks old and you've got this 'issue' cornered into recall?