I am new

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: HNTFSH, hunt-chessies, captainkevan, swampbilly 1980

I am new

Postby LabLovrinOhio » Wed Mar 05, 2008 1:36 am

Hello all, I am new to the breed. I did have a lab mix when I was younger, but now I have a Black Lab papers and such. I just have a question, I know they are big balls of energy and especially at the age he is now, 1yr 2mths. The only thing that I have had any kind of problem with him is jumping. A whole lot of jumping, especially on people. I have attempted to correct with the treat method and such. When I have treats, he is good as gold, but without them he doesn't want to listen when I tell him off and turn my back. Any suggestions? He is just way to big and doesn't know how big he is. Any easy ways to correct this?
Thanks in advance
LabLovrinOhio
Newb

Postby David » Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:02 am

I'm moving this to the Hunting Dog Forum so you can get some answers and :welcome: to DHC.
ImageImageImage
David
Lefty

Postby buckmeister » Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:39 am

Put your knee into his chest when he jumps on you and firmly say no. It is not pleasant to the dog, just a slight bump with the knee not an ultimate fighting championship knee just a firm bump.
"Give me liberty or give me death"
buckmeister
hunter

Postby Hendy64 » Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:46 am

just like what was said before put your knee into his chest and flip his ass on the ground what i do is try and provoke the dog to jump by patting on my chest the second the dog tries to jump i say no and put my knee into thier chest and labs are extremly hyper the first two years after that they calm down but some males take a good 4 years
Hendy64
hunter

Postby Labhuntr » Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:15 pm

Another thing that worked for me was to gently step on his back feet, my dog hates getting his feet touched!! The knee in the chest thing really works good to :thumbsup: