New Dog Question

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: HNTFSH, hunt-chessies, captainkevan, swampbilly 1980

New Dog Question

Postby B_G » Wed Aug 25, 2004 12:44 pm

Hi.

I am new to this site. I'm also new to owning/training a waterfowel dog. I've only ever owned/hunted with Beagels and they pretty much train themselvs. I have a 5 month old Golden. She's a pretty sharp dog. I've already taught her all basic obedience commands and a few party tricks and now we're both bored. I figured both of us would enjoy learning to duck hunt. Is it too late to start her training? I was thinking of taking her to a pro school since I have no Idea what I'm doing. Any Ideas or recommendations on where to start? Sorry for being clueless.

Thanks
Brian
B_G
Newb

Postby SteveInTN » Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:57 pm

If she has basic OB down then you're right on schedule. Look around and buy yourself a retriever training video or book (SmartWork, Water Dog, Mike Lardy, etc, etc). If you don't want to do it yourself, find a good local trainer. If she has a hunting pedigree then she is getting to the perfect age.
"I'll start spending less time with my dog and more with my wife when she starts fetching ducks for me"
SteveInTN
hunter

Postby B_G » Thu Aug 26, 2004 11:40 am

To be honest, I'm not really sure what her pedigree means. She came from a highly recommended breeder With AKC & OFA papers. My original intent was to get a dog to hang out with, not hunt. I really don't know what traits to look for in a hunting golden. She is very mellow in chaotic situations ie dog park, will retrieve a tennis ball out of the water( I live on a lakefront) and learns very fast. Basic obedience only took a couple weeks at 15 min a day. Are there any physical traits I should be looking for.

Thanks for the advice on the videos. I'll pick a couple of them up. :thumbsup:
B_G
Newb

Postby SteveInTN » Thu Aug 26, 2004 1:41 pm