Giving up the bird!!!

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

Giving up the bird!!!

Postby sully » Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:35 pm

First time training a dog. Been going really well, but concerned about my dog giving up the bird. She is just at 6 months (yellow lab) and I have used duck scent on the dummies. I just recently introduced her to doves by hand - not fetching yet. The instinct definitely kicked in and she really wanted to swallow the dove whole. I got it away from her without scolding and without swallowing. I then took dove wings and tied them to the dummy. She did good fetching, but she did get the feathers off and wanted to swallow them as well. I know that a duck would probably be too big to swallow, but what can I do to make sure she will not swallow a dove or just keep the duck to her self? Any suggestions. Again, this is my first time. :cool:
Aim Small, Miss Small
War Eagle!!!
sully
Newb

Postby SteveInTN » Mon Sep 13, 2004 10:09 pm

Force Fetch would give you the tools you need.

WAR EAGLE!!

:thumbsup:
"I'll start spending less time with my dog and more with my wife when she starts fetching ducks for me"
SteveInTN
hunter

Postby sully » Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:07 pm

Thanks, I have also heard of wrapping the bird in chicken wire to keep her from eating it. Do you think that would cause her to dislike the fetch. She is crazy about it right now, but I just want to be for careful.

Thanks
Aim Small, Miss Small
War Eagle!!!
sully
Newb

Postby muskiemac » Fri Sep 17, 2004 7:53 am

Hey sully: Iwas looking at you sitting question, and I thought that I would pipe in here as well.
I am also going to to down another road here.