10 mo old, slow retrieves and won't hold

Share hunting dog tips, hunting dog training questions or links of interest here.

Moderators: captainkevan, swampbilly 1980, HNTFSH, hunt-chessies

10 mo old, slow retrieves and won't hold

Postby Lvn2Hnt » Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:53 pm

I've been working on the FF basics with my 10 mo lab/chessie cross. He's doing great except for when he retreives, he'll get 2 feet away from me, drop the bird or dummy and just look at me.

I can't get him to "hold" a bird nor bring it all the way to me. I've tried the run away from him to get him to keep coming trick and he's gotten a little too smart for that and just stops where I had been.

This is seriously starting to bug me and I'm afraid that I've done something wrong with his training that I won't be able to reverse. I'm a very novice "trainer" and looking for good solid advice.
Lvn2Hnt
hunter

Postby gsphunter » Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:08 pm

Do you use an e-collar. If you incorporate the e-collar into the FF training, then the procedure would be to hit the continuous button until the bumper is back in the dog's mouth.

You may also need to go back up on the table or wherever you work hold at. Reinforce it. Hit the bumper out of his mouth, and apply pressure until it's back in. Let the dog know that until you say release, the bumper doesn't come out.
gsphunter
hunter

Postby Lvn2Hnt » Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:13 pm

No, I haven't used an e-collar yet. Haven't wanted to take that plunge into my pocket yet.

Could you elaborate a bit on how to teach the hold? If and when I get firm with him, he hunkers down, rolls over and quits?
Lvn2Hnt
hunter

Postby ACEBLDRS » Tue Oct 04, 2005 5:59 pm

If you are only working on "HOLD" then stop retrieving all together or else don't worry about him bringing it back and holding it. You have not taught that part yet.