Hiding in plain sight

A place for people to discuss "do it yourself" projects from building blinds, to boats and everything in between.

Moderator: Botiz630

Hiding in plain sight

Postby danieltalbert0527 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 1:54 pm

I am new to duck hunting on long island but where I am going I was told I don't need to have a blind. Any tips on how to stay covered and hidden without a blind?
danieltalbert0527
Newb

Remove Advertisements

DuckHuntingChat.com
Advertisement

Re: Hiding in plain sight

Postby dangduck85 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:02 pm

are you allowed to manipulate the vegetation where you are going? If so the use a machete to cut some cover and build a makeshift blind. If not the other option is to take some portable coverage maybe some posts and some camo netting? are there trees there or just open grass?
dangduck85
hunter

Postby danieltalbert0527 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 9:16 am

Theres just a lot of high grass and I can't cut it down at all because it's privately owned.
danieltalbert0527
Newb

Postby alanwebfoot » Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:12 pm

don't cut down a natural blind unless it's too far to the water then carry in some weave it into a net so it'll blend in better
alanwebfoot
hunter

Postby BaconBits » Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:58 am

Maybe grab a seat and sit in the high grass??
BaconBits
hunter

Postby Bluesky2012 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:45 pm

Buy grass mats. Sit in a low profile turkey chair and pull a grass mat over you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bluesky2012
hunter

Postby bharm16 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 7:17 pm