GoPro question

Share you waterfowl hunting gear tips and questions here. Including blinds, camo, clothing, etc... For decoys and calls, please see the other appropriate forums for that type of genre, Thanks.

Moderators: 2500hdon37s, Quack Wacker NC, Smackaduck, HENDU3270, donell67

Re: GoPro question

Postby bttrym8 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:56 pm

Gotcha. I like it a lot. Thanks for the ideas


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
bttrym8
hunter
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:46 am


Re: GoPro question

Postby The Pas Swamp Donkey » Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:03 am

The only thing I don't like about the go-pro is that they are large, and the FOV is too wide. It is too bad they can't have a really narrow FOV , around 25-30 degrees so you can get a more natural shot, and not a fishbowl. My son has a go-pro, and the gun mount isn't strong enough to hold the camera, It tends to come loose after 1st or 2nd shot. I've got a small 1 ounce camera I mount under the brim of my hunting cap, so I get decent video down the barrel, but at 61 degrees FOV, still alittle too wide, and I can only find it in 480. If I could find a similar camera with 1080 or 720 with a narrow FOV, I think it would be ideal. Here is a video I made just after I got it. Jut kill shots. Most were in the 25-30 yd range, one high one about 40-45 yds.

Click on the picture

Image
A GOOD PLUMBER DOESN'T BLAME HIS TOOLS
User avatar
The Pas Swamp Donkey
hunter
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:29 pm

Re: GoPro question

Postby Basspond » Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:46 am

Holy smokes there's some birds in that field! Good shooting too.

I want to say the narrow FOV on the GoPro is around 90 degrees, it would be nice if they offered an even narrower option, but I usually just crop it a little in post production.
Basspond
hunter
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: GoPro question

Postby birdman24 » Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:04 am

I'm a big fan of the GoPro on the 720 60 fps. Here's some footage from late last season on my Hero 2..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jP-3DploH_M
birdman24
hunter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:41 pm
Location: Sherwood, AR

Re: GoPro question

Postby ArkansasRobertson » Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:55 am

NHDuckHunter wrote:
AR Dave wrote:So I was just given a Go Pro Hero - what am I going to do with it? Looking for ideas on where to put it. I am thinking on the front of my blind. Just mount it up in the middle, turn it on, and hope it records ducks getting hammered over the decoys. I don't think it's going going to catch much at a distance. Any advice? I haven't used it at all. 720 for slow motion. Thanks!

PS - from what I've seen on You-Tubes, when they're mounted on a shotgun and the gun is shot - it looks like the gun was shot. ha ha

I actually mount mine high and behind me. The only issue I've had so far is if the blind isn't great, it shakes when we shoot or when "someone" jumps around too much in the blind. oh, and another issue, whenever its up, I never seem to shoot ducks. :lol3:
the best accessory you can get is a remote. When I am hunting big areas, I have plenty of time to turn it on before the ducks start working the spread. I keep it clipped to my lanyard, and just hit the record button when I go for the calls.

got my first recurve kill this year and mine shook when i shot. pissed
User avatar
ArkansasRobertson
hunter
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:35 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: GoPro question

Postby bttrym8 » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:27 pm

birdman24 wrote:I'm a big fan of the GoPro on the 720 60 fps. Here's some footage from late last season on my Hero 2..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jP-3DploH_M



Dude everything about this is awesome.

For you head mount guys, how do you make sure the angle is correct


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
bttrym8
hunter
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:46 am

Re: GoPro question

Postby Omaha Clucker » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:52 pm

I don't know if this warrants a new thread or not, but what editing software are you guys using? We just got a Hero 3+ and have been screwing around with the basic gopro software but it seems pretty limited.
Omaha Clucker
hunter
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:54 pm

Re: GoPro question

Postby coulterville33 » Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:51 pm

X2 on editing software what's everyone using
coulterville33
hunter
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: GoPro question

Postby KillerKowalski » Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:26 pm

iMovie or Quicktime Pro. I don't edit per say since I record so much. I don't have the time to edit really. I only upload so I can delete the cards and save the videos. It's basically a cloud.
User avatar
KillerKowalski
hunter
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:25 pm
Location: Where racketeering, conspiracy, fraud and soliciting of bribes for political appointments is normal

Re: GoPro question

Postby Basspond » Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:53 pm

iMovie early on and now Final Cut Pro X
Basspond
hunter
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: GoPro question

Postby ArkansasRobertson » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 pm

Basspond wrote:
bttrym8 wrote:What field are you here? Wide medium or narrow?


I was in wide for the first shots and medium for the head mount. I've upgraded to Hero3s for this season and use one mounted on my shotgun ammo cap in narrow and then one on my boat in wide. I do some pan and zoom in post production but I get some pretty decent footage.

Image

Image

Image

http://youtu.be/PG1X4aWg2uo

http://youtu.be/IJZT6neqeTA


my footage the ducks look like 1 pixel dots. I dont know what to do
User avatar
ArkansasRobertson
hunter
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:35 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: GoPro question

Postby black_duck » Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:32 pm

Does anybody know how to screenshot the videos and also how do y'all use to edit the videos?
black_duck
hunter
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 4:41 pm
Location: east

Re: GoPro question

Postby DOGDITCHER » Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:03 pm

Just got a Hero 3 Black and only fooled with it a little
but the free GoPro Studio from Gopro does both editing and screen shot capture

There are lots a videos on youtube
here are a few video's to start


Grab Screenshot -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTQL7fiLCdQ

Studio Basics Basics http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEBe6hVXXHA

Add Audio -https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoFOB1uLX6g
User avatar
DOGDITCHER
hunter
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:16 pm

Re: GoPro question

Postby coulterville33 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:01 pm

I can't get the gopro editor 2.0 to work when I import video in it gives me a corrupt or unsupported format error but video plays in real player and QuickTime.
coulterville33
hunter
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: GoPro question

Postby DOGDITCHER » Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:04 am

Not much help -but try uninstalling software
and downloading it again from there site
also i think there is a place to search for help there as well
User avatar
DOGDITCHER
hunter
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:16 pm

Re: GoPro question

Postby Basspond » Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:44 am

I put together a bunch of footage from my gun mounted Hero 3, this is just about all 1080p 30fps narrow, one or two is 60fps.

http://youtu.be/-NRCHzCogvc
Basspond
hunter
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:06 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: GoPro question

Postby Putmeincoach » Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:16 pm

The Gopro does a pretty decent job with time-lapse, here's 2 videos from this past week in Louisiana.
Both videos are set to one frame every 2 seconds, sped up to 30fps making 1 second of video 1 minute real time.
Watch them in HD

Putmeincoach
hunter
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:27 pm

Previous

Return to Hunting Gear Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests