Beginning Gear Questions

Share you waterfowl hunting gear tips and questions here. Including blinds, camo, clothing, etc... For decoys and calls, please see the other appropriate forums for that type of genre, Thanks.

Moderators: Smackaduck, HENDU3270, donell67, Quack Wacker NC

Beginning Gear Questions

Postby HunterT56 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:10 pm

Im new to duck hunting and im trying it out next season. I have the Buck Gardner Double Nasty2 ordered already but i ws wondrring what some other calls i might need? How many decoys? Are mojo decoys worth the money and what are a good pair of economy friendly wwaders? Ill be hunting Mallards, Woodies, Teal, and Canadian Geese. Any answers will help
HunterT56
hunter

Re: Beginning Gear Questions

Postby rebelp74 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:25 pm

First and foremost calling isn't as important as scouting. Scout, scout, scout, scout, scout, scout, scout and scout some more. That is the best way to kill anything. For calls since you already have a mallard hen call, learn to become efficient blowing it. Also get a duck whistle(Haydels is my favorite), get a woody call(Duck Commander is my favorite), and get a goose call. For decoys pick up 1-2 dozen mallards, 1/2-1 dozen teal, 1/2 dozen woodies(don't really need em but woodies will decoy to em), and some goose decoys. Goose decoys depends on where you will be hunting(field or water). Mojos are not worth the money, invest in a jerk cord instead. Waders are on sale right now along with alot of other stuff. Check out rogerssportinggoods.com, mackspw.com, cabelas.com, finalflight.net. Those are some of the better sites for gear.
Indaswamp wrote:
jaysweet3 wrote:Looks a little small.

Dat's what She said....

Underradar wrote:We, the unsigned members of the HH, are not allowed to address such questions. But thank you for asking.
rebelp74
hunter

Postby TXHunter96 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:08 pm