Stocking Waders with what kind of boots??

Share you waterfowl hunting gear tips and questions here. Including blinds, camo, clothing, etc... For decoys and calls, please see the other appropriate forums for that type of genre, Thanks.

Moderators: Smackaduck, HENDU3270, donell67, Quack Wacker NC

Stocking Waders with what kind of boots??

Postby Jeps90 » Mon Jul 08, 2013 1:59 am

I am new to duck hunting. If I am getting a set of stocking waders, what kind of boots should I get? Should I just get some rubber knee high boots or try to get some shoes that just cover my feet with some good rubber and traction on the bottom? :help: :help:
"If its brown, shoot it down!"
Jeps90
hunter

Re: Stocking Waders with what kind of boots??

Postby Ksch97 » Mon Jul 08, 2013 8:25 am

I would look into a boot with traction, I have a pair of Simms wader boots, they are comfortable and yet work well. I got them for fishing but I plan to use them during duck season. They range in price. I would recommend somewhere in the middle. I hope this helps

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
Ksch97
hunter

Postby Oklahoma Greenhead » Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:13 am

youre going to end up losing alot of boots/shoes in the mud. Why not just use that extra money you're spending on shoes to buy a pair of boot foot waders?
"QUACK 'em, WHACK 'em, STACK 'em"

Mashin' Mallards since 1991
Oklahoma Greenhead
hunter

Postby garlicsalt » Mon Jul 08, 2013 11:03 am

so glad you asked, i hunt calf deep cake frosting like mudd. i started with boot foot waders that were a nightmare. boot gets stuck and stays put in mudd. foot slips out of boot steps on knee and down you go. i now ware cheapy (under 20$) type hiking boots with stocking foot waders(breathable). ive got three sesons out of my last pair of cheap hiking boots and i can run right over the top of that same mudd. love this system works great for me. good luck have fun. salt
garlicsalt
hunter

Postby Jeps90 » Mon Jul 08, 2013 11:20 am