Novice Gear

Share you waterfowl hunting gear tips and questions here. Including blinds, camo, clothing, etc... For decoys and calls, please see the other appropriate forums for that type of genre, Thanks.

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, Smackaduck, HENDU3270, donell67

Novice Gear

Postby TWP » Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:02 pm

Hey Guys,

I am new to duck and goose hunting (started this year with the help of a couple friends) but grew up on a ranch and have hunted everything else possible, varmits, deer, dove, quail, pheasant, etc. So I have a lot of gear for hunting mounted up over the years. However, I don't have anything for duck hunting. I was curious to see what you all thought about what I should start out with. I have a shotgun and am getting all my camo together. But what kind of decoys, calls, blinds, etc should I look into buying. I will be hunting puddle ducks and will have to be mobile being in the Texas Panhandle. My biggest question right now is what kind of calls should I get and how is the best way to learn (pester another hunter, CDs, DVDs...) to call effectively.

Thanks guys this is my first post and I'm looking forward to lots and lots of good info in the future by joining this awesome forum.
TWP
hunter

Postby donell67 » Fri Dec 10, 2004 6:44 pm

for a beginner i would just go to walmart and get outfitted. they have quite few different calls,decoys,shells,calling cds, etc. you can get setup cheap there also.
donell67
Forum & State Moderator

Postby h2ofwlr » Sat Dec 11, 2004 10:22 pm

I'm not sure what kind of cover you are hunting in--but match the blind material to it.

I'd stay with basic calls for know like Haydels, etc... As for learning--get a VHS tape or DVD as hand position is important--especially for Short Reed Goose calls. And yes learning from a skilled hunter is also agood way to learn.

decoy preferances are typically regional, so ask the guys in Tx and OK what you like to use.
The Audacity of Bull Crap.