getting started

Share you waterfowl hunting gear tips and questions here. Including blinds, camo, clothing, etc... For decoys and calls, please see the other appropriate forums for that type of genre, Thanks.

Moderators: 2500hdon37s, Smackaduck, HENDU3270, donell67, Quack Wacker NC

getting started

Postby chasintails » Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:58 am

I'm fairly new to waterfowl hunting, but have been bowhunting whitetails and fishing for all my life. Anyway got in on a pond lease with one of my football players fathers and have permission to hunt geese on a couple of fields. I own a dozen duck floaters, an 870, a couple calls, and have desent camo, but thats about it.
What should I be looking at buying first to see success?
A layout blind? Goose Decoys, different calls, a better gun?
I don't have thousands to spend, but do understand the difference between quality and quantity. Looking back at your hunting careers, what would be the thing that sticks out as "I should have got this much sooner" . I know this is a pretty open ended question, I'm just looking for some advice before spending.
Thanks for the replies, I appreciate the help.
chasintails
hunter

Re: getting started

Postby LiquidA45 » Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:41 pm

I'm only 24 but what I wish I had sooner is a lease!! So you are well ahead of me. I shoot an 870 as do hundreds of thousands of other guys and most guys that shoot something else have an 870 for backup so you are good there. If the birds want to be on that pond you may be good on decoys but you can never have too many. This year I am trying to get as many goose decoys as I can just to be different and I have read ducks will land with geese more readily than ducks. A layout blind may be a good idea if you don't have much cover. Maybe add some different species to your spread; pintails, teal, whatever you see most common other than mallards. Hope that helps.
LiquidA45
hunter

Postby chasintails » Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:00 am

It does,