Making your own pop-up

Share you waterfowl hunting gear tips and questions here. Including blinds, camo, clothing, etc... For decoys and calls, please see the other appropriate forums for that type of genre, Thanks.

Moderators: 2500hdon37s, Quack Wacker NC, Smackaduck, HENDU3270, donell67

Making your own pop-up

Postby Cranberry1 » Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:07 pm

Does anyone have any plans or ideas as far as making your own pop-up blind? I am new to the whole water-fowl scene , and honestly i don't have the money to spend on a 100$ popup blind for in the fields. Does anyone have any ideas on how to make one? I tried to google it and I got hits for mostly popupblinds on boats and like deer hunting blinds. Answers appreciated!
Cranberry1
hunter

Re: Making your own pop-up

Postby Cranberry1 » Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:12 pm

i should've said layout! Sorry! but still open to ideas
Cranberry1
hunter

Postby bdub20 » Sat Dec 21, 2013 7:21 pm

I have read about guys that just lay under a burlap sack. Just try to find something comfortable to lay on and lay your burlap over you. Easy to just throw back over you, maybe try to dig out a little area for you to lay in.
bdub20
hunter

Postby tenfingergrip » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:03 am

Here is a photobucket collection of pics of a homemade layout I made a few years ago just to see if I could! Worked out well. Not extremely portable, but the only thing I had to pay for was the threaded rods that held the two pieces of emt conduit together and the 90 degree elbows that created the legs. The rest of the "stuff" I already had....two pieces of fast grass, old carpet and plywood for the back rest, head rest, and lay on strip. Also had some raffia to add to the camo, velcro to hold the fast grass, and bamboo to create the flip open top area. I also bent a piece of flatbar aluminum that I had laying around to accomodate the chest area and trimmed the fastgrass back to accomodate the face area. Maybe you can get some ideas for your design.