Beginner Tips?

Share you waterfowl hunting gear tips and questions here. Including blinds, camo, clothing, etc... For decoys and calls, please see the other appropriate forums for that type of genre, Thanks.

Moderators: 2500hdon37s, Smackaduck, HENDU3270, donell67, Quack Wacker NC

Beginner Tips?

Postby EastTexan98 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:48 pm

Hey guys,
Im kinda new to duck hunting, and was wondering if anyone had tips on decoys, calls, or even shell preference. Ive been just about every weekend of this season, and have killed 2 mallard hens, 6 gadwalls, and 7 wood ducks. I would really like to stay into this sport but hunting on public land just doesn't do it sometimes. For us younger hunters (I'm 15), we have had some issues with this especially with older hunters coming in a ruining our decoys for fun. I know not all people are like this but its aggravating. Anyways, any tips on decoy spreads or equipment would be very helpful.

Thanks

My Equipment: Stoeger m3500, Gamewarner waders (dont know the name), and a teal, mallard drake, and wood duck call. (cheap 7-15$ calls), 2001 14ft deep and wide 10 hp mercury and trolling motor.
EastTexan98
Newb

Re: Beginner Tips?

Postby Nelliboy2 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 7:36 pm

Are you leaving your decoys out over night or something? Decoys idk what you have but I would just get a couple dozen cheapo hot buys or storm front. 30 bucks or less for a dozen. Use them for a couple years if they get shot no biggie.

Shells I prefer Kent's to anything else. Usually 3" 1560 #1 and #3s.