Good gun for a new hunter

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Good gun for a new hunter

Postby cuffedduck » Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:45 pm

I'm new to duck hunting but have plenty of experience with firearms. I would like to get some suggestions for a good shotgun for a beginner in duck hunting. I'd prefer an auto loader but would be open to other models. Also need advise regarding caliber and choke. Basically, I'm rather ignorant when it comes to what type of shotgun I'll need for a good all around weapon. I'd like to limit my spending to $500 for my first gun...after I gain some experience I'd defenitely be open to spending more. Thanks in advance for your help!
cuffedduck
Newb

Postby ks_waterfowler » Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:47 pm

stoeger model 2000
whistlin_wings wrote:I grew up in a neighborhood with only 3 pools and a public golf course. Thug life is all I know.
ks_waterfowler
hunter

Postby steelcommander » Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:48 pm

A Stoeger is an excellent choice. If you are going to go with the ever popular Remington 870, make sure to get a Wingmaster and NOT the Express. If you want an autoloader, I would get the Stoeger 2000, but if you are going with a pump, I would go with a Benelli Nova.
steelcommander
hunter

Postby Trois_beaux_canards » Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:38 pm

Above all else, I'd say start with a pump gun.

Now, you are gonna here as many opinions as there are guns on the market.

the 870 is classic and cheap. You might say disposable.

Browing BPS, Benelli Nova, Mossberg 835 are also among the most popular pumps.

WHy a pump? You are less likley to have problems with jamming -assuming you don't short shuck the pump- when hunting in adverse conditions that are typical to watertfowling.

On a final note :welcome: to DHC, and good luck!
-Ryan
Trois_beaux_canards
hunter

Postby Wags » Sat Dec 31, 2005 7:45 am