Need help sighting in my first Shotgun...

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Need help sighting in my first Shotgun...

Postby dan61psu » Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:33 am

Hey all -

I am new to the DuckHuntingChat world, but would like to become a vet around here after a few seasons.

I am from SouthEastern PA, have duck hunted just once, and fell in love when I did so.

I just got my first shotgun, a Remington 870 Express Super Mag Pump. I would like to get started with equipping myself for next season, since this season is about over in PA (one more week of duck).

I need to pattern the gun and get the right choke for 3 1/2" shells (steel). I also want to use the gun for Spring Gobbler season.

Can one of you with more shotgun hunting experience lend some tips for:

1. Patterning for the Steel shot/Duck Choke (modified choke?)
2. Patterning for the Gobbler season (full choke I assume?)
3. Type of choke/shot for Canada Goose?

Anythign else I should know? I am not, by any means new to shooting sports...just to waterfowling and shotgun hunting. I have shot skeet and trap, so am familiar with shooting flying objects :). I am also a deer hunter and enjoy handgunning at the range.

Thanks all! Great site!

Dan - (Chester County, PA)
dan61psu
hunter

Postby steelcommander » Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:36 pm

Well, first of all I don't think you can sight in a ventilated rib barrel. Now to your questions.

1. You're on the right track with the modified choke. Although, many will tell you to use a full or even an improved cylinder choke. I would start with a modified, and decide for yourself if you want a bigger or smaller spread. You can also invest in an aftermarket choke. Many people, including myself, prefer Patternmaster chokes. And as far as patterning goes, just buy different loads and see what works best.