Remington Scatterguns ???

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Remington Scatterguns ???

Postby SwampMonster » Fri May 19, 2006 1:01 am

Anyone own and/or have any experience with the Remington SPR shotgun or the Sportsman version of the 1187? I need to pick up a cheaper model shotgun for a gift and I don't think the person the gift is for is a fan of Mossbergs or Charles Daly, so I'm kind of looking at those two Remi models. No Remi-bashing please. I have several Remingtons and love them all, but I have no knowledge at all about the SPR or the Sportsman. Thanks in advance for your opinions. -SM
SwampMonster
hunter

Postby ol' yeller » Fri May 19, 2006 8:44 am

I have the SPR, but bought it while it was still being sold as a Baikal MP-153. As a cheap auto the gun has preformed flawlessly. The only gripe I have (and it's a small one) is the bluing will rust pretty easy. About as easily as the Parkerized coating on the Remingtons. As far as jams and the like I can fire anything from 2.75" 7/8 oz. loads to 3.5" with no problems. All it takes is a couple of seconds to pop the forearm off and adjust the gas setting.

I would feel comfortable in saying that it is the best deal I have ever gotten on a gun. I've never had a problem out of it and for $320 out the door it is one of if not my favorite gun I own. :thumbsup:
ol' yeller
hunter

Postby Boomn4x4 » Fri May 19, 2006 12:49 pm

My dad baught an SPR also back when it was ownded by Biakal. As far as I have heard they only changed the name on the gun, they are exactly the same. Couple things about it.