Duck Hunting Forum banner

The purpose of barrel length?

4K views 26 replies 20 participants last post by  ctdeathfrombelow 
#1 ·
I am looking to purchase a shotgun and it is the first I have looked at the benelli or the beretta. I am looking at a SBE II and a 391 Extrema. SBE II has 28 inch barrel and 391 has 26 inch barrel. I would like to use the gun for turkey, dove and waterfowl. Most of the turkey guns have a 24, inch barrel or shorter. Why doesn't any of the turkey guns have 26 or 28 inch barrels? Is is going to be that big of a difference if I just purchase the 28 inch benelli. I thought about purchasing both guns since one is 28 and other is 26 and buying the separate 24 inch barrel for the benelli and having two barrels for it. Does any of this make since? I have deer hunted all my life and want to get started bird hunting more. I am a novice when it comes to shotguns. I have never bought one. I have one shotgun and it was passed down to me from my dad and it is 30 years old so I really don't know that much about them. Thanks.

#3 ·
Many guys who turkey hunt prefer shorter barrels because they are easier to maneuver in tight spaces and in brush. Generally, for wingshooting, it's easier to hit longer ranged targets with longer barreled guns. The extra length helps maintain the swing and follow through. If you go to sporting clays matches, you'll notice that most serious shooters are using longer barreled guns, even those using semi autos .... because they do shoot better with them. But, for hunting purposes, since you may be hunting in timber, or out of a blind, most people compromise on barrel length and 26" to 28" seems to be the two most popular barrel lengths they choose. Personally, I prefer a longer barrel (28" or 30"), but in my 10 1/4 pound 10ga. I went with a 26" because it swung better.

#4 ·