decent duck gun what to buy

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

decent duck gun what to buy

Postby wwardd45 » Sun May 12, 2013 8:27 pm

hey guys I am a newbie on here and i have a quick ? i have a 1986 wingmaster that is in oustanding shape .
looking to get a second duck gun i am afraid of my 870 rusting etc. any suggestions on a reasonbly priced gun don't mind buying used or any tips on protecting my 870. thanks guys
wwardd45
Newb

Re: decent duck gun what to buy

Postby cONG » Sun May 12, 2013 9:55 pm

That would make the best duck gun. What do u have to lose? use what u got, no need to spend money. It not like u have to abuse it. keep it in a case when waking in and clean it when u get home
cONG
hunter

Postby Ga ducker » Mon May 13, 2013 7:25 am

Just keep it out of the water and if it does get wet then clean it really well. That gun would be an excellent duck gun!
Ga ducker
hunter

Postby wwardd45 » Mon May 13, 2013 8:16 am

thanks guys i had a wingmaster i used as a kid i love the gun was just concerned about salt water
wwardd45
Newb

Postby kenner » Mon May 13, 2013 10:57 am

I have a pretty Wingmaster and was taking it to the swamps... I wanted something less shiny, but couldn't find the removable camo paint. So, I bought a Rem Express and camo painted it. The barrel's 28", compared to the 30" barrel on my nice gun, so it swings a little differently, but I'm finally getting adjusted and I'm shooting 23 of 25 on the wobble trap (birds going in all directions), with a full choke and my gun unmounted (hunting position).

The guys at the shooting club laugh and say it looks like I drug my gun down a gravel road... You should see the high dollar guns they shoot!... And I shoot just as well ;-)

And yes, I've fallen face first, with gun, into the muck and water.... Came home, hosed it off and did some more fine cleaning.